I told myself at the start of this year that I’d do three things with this blog.

  1. Interview a creative head once a month
  2. Talk more about the little things in life which make the big things easier to tackle
  3. Provide advice for graduates and placements

Now I’m aware I’ve done none of these as yet. So half way through the year I thought I’d make a start on one:

Commuters in London waiting at a Platform

Missing the everyday detail:

Last night, as is often the case, after a day art-directing digital work for a client, I was driving home late from work. The commuters had gone, the jobless had given up looking and gone back indoors, and the teenagers had long got bored of hanging about in town. And it was then that I found myself actually missing the typical busy drive home with my fellow commuters. It sounds strange I know, but as social animals the bustle of routine with others can often make us feel normal and safe. At some point in life I’m sure this viewpoint will change, and I’ll find myself wanting to move out of town, work from home and  grow a beard whilst tending my home-grown veg. But not just yet thanks, I’m still addicted to the hustle and bustle of everyday living.

The busy routine can be an inspiration, it just takes the mind to stop seeing the everyday as a chore and start taking stock of the infrequent details.

It’s one of the reasons I love being in London when I’m there: I love the visual noise, the layered sounds which create a wall of sound as a backing track to a commute, and as a creative visual person I get a buzz from noticing things which go un-seen each and every day by most. Just look up at the detail above your head, read the faces of people as they rush to work – stressed and blind to the world, look beyond the person in-front and take a wide-angle view on  things. It’s important to use this technique in this industry too, being able to see what others miss is often a route to success.

The busy routine can be an inspiration too, it just needs us to stop viewing the everyday as a chore and start taking stock of the infrequent details. Once everybody has gone home  these rich layers fall away, but a new relaxed beauty then falls on cities.

I don’t mind the everyday normalities and routine at all, in fact I rather enjoy it.

