I’ll lay down my cards early, the new commercial from Old Spice didn’t ‘do it’ for me. In my opinion it felt like it was the second choice in their original concepts. Sure, the ad still has a solid big idea, but thereon in lies a weaker execution. Indeed The Man Your Man Could Smell Like was a tough act to follow, but sequels can often be just as impressive.

The agency responsible for the new Old Spice advert, W+K have worked on a stella campaign since 2007 for the resurgence of Old Spice. No longer the reserve of your Dad’s gym bag, the ad campaign has brought the brand to the attention of a new generation of Dads: a knowing backlash against the Metrosexual man.

“Old Spice was in decline. They have now turned that around.” – Jim Stengel, P&G’s former CMO

There’s been much positive reaction to the follow of The Man Your Man Could Smell Like, but for me it failed to impress. Maybe it’s because I had such a strong love of the previous advertisement, but ultimately for me it felt like their second option wheeled out as a sequel.

Agency: Wieden+Kennedy Portland

