Today I blogged about the fabulous Children In Need video by Peter Kay. No sooner had I linked to it, and tweeted it, than Sony BMG had filed a copyright claim against it, and taken it down.

I had clearly stated it was a Charity video, linked to the original, gave direct links to purchase the video for charity, and mentioned the aforementioned brand.

A couple of things bother me here. Firstly how this reflected on Sony and its perceived lack of desire for driving extra traffic to a charity. Secondly, its lack of understanding about how young people interact with content.

The first we could argue all day about, and I have no desire to get into some horrid lawsuit for defamation. But the second issue is clear: Allowing people to share content on the internet in a controlled way is an invaluable way of spreading the word. Major brands connecting with young society must recognise that the users are now in control. They are the force behind how you promote online media; they produce and distribute content. Sony, you need to think like your audience. It not only reflected badly, it damaged my perception of your Global Brand, and from comments I’ve received, damaged it beyond my remit too.

By users sharing the video it had the potential to have a nigh on viral effect from an official YouTube version. The whole production is mind-blowing. So Sony, upload an official one to YouTube. Link through to the song on iTunes, flag up where you can buy it, seed it, and watch it go viral and make you look amazing in the process. It’s great Sony, have faith here.

As I’ve written this it hit number one on iTunes’ video chart after being released on download at the weekend. So what do you think? When you do, I’d like to have the Official YouTube version on my blog, which if you’re watching this, get’s several hundred hits a day on such a post. That’s several hundred people who could be seeing the link to buy and donate cash to charity.

Work smarter. The world is changing Sony.

