speechdebelle

The first of a new regular new music post I hope to keep up. I’ll try to keep them short, give some links, and let you make your own mind up.

I’ve just bought Speech Debelle’s debut – Speech Therapy. And what a debut! Beautiful articulate flows, poetic storylines and orchestral cinematic beats, she’s touted as chilled hip-hop for intellects. It’s a hugely refreshing break from the mass-market hip-hop culture, and especially for a soft toned female artist. She’s been many times homeless and everything in her past pointed away from the Mercury Music Nominated life she leads now.

It’s best if you simply give this a listen. It’s well worth the £7.99 at HMV. I’ve played this three times since I bought it yesterday and loved it more every time. She’s my tip for the Mercury Awards in a few weeks.

And here’s a little on the BBC about her unconventional route into music:

